Civil Service

Civil Service


​The Civil Service Board consists of seven members appointed by the Dallas City Council for two year terms who are responsible for overseeing the civil service system established in a Code of Rules and Regulations which are authorized by Chapter XVI of the Dallas City Charter.

The Civil Service Board meetings have been changed to the first Tuesday of the month at 9:30 a.m. (change in time), until further notice, in Suite 1C-South, City Hall, 1500 Marilla, Dallas, Texas.

The Board has governing authority over the Civil Service Department with a staff of 28.

Current membership of the Board is as follows:

    Civil Service Board Chair​                                     Civil Service Board Vice-Chair    
    cityofdallas_122018-1-X2.jpg                                                             Flora Hernandez - Copy.jpg
       Dr. Troy Lee Coleman                                                          Flora M. Hernandez

    Civil Service Board Members​

    Mark Guckian - Copy.jpg                                                       Chandra Marshall-Henson - Copy.jpg

     Mark R. Guckian                                                                       Chandra Marshall-Henson                                                      

        cityofdallas_122018-3-X2.jpg                                                    cityofdallas_122018-2-X2.jpg

         Lorraine G. Montemayor                                                         Nirav N. Sanghani  

        Terry Welch - Copy.jpg                                      

        Terry Welch​​


      ​Text of rules governing the conduct of hearings and hearing procedures are available here: