Defensive Driving Course
Deferred Disposition is an option for individuals seeking to keep a traffic violation off their driving record. Deferred Disposition also keeps a conviction off an individual's criminal record, if the offense is a penal code offense (e.g. assault, public intoxication, etc.). If deferred disposition is successfully completed, the case will be dismissed.
Procedure to Request Deferred Disposition by Mail
Defendants have 21 days from the date of their citation to request Deferred Disposition by mail.
You may request Deferred Disposition via mail by entering a plea of "Guilty" or "No Contest" and submitting Documents 1 – 4 below:
Deferred Disposition Application Form
- Proof of financial responsibility, consisting of a copy of the declarations page of your motor vehicle liability insurance policy;
- A copy of your valid Texas driver's license (not a Commercial Driver's License [CDL]); and
- A non-refundable money order or cashier's check made payable to the "City of Dallas" in the amount that corresponds to the following deferred fee schedule (please include the case number(s) on the cashier's check or money order to ensure proper processing).
Deferred Disposition Fee Schedule
|Speeding (MPH over posted speed limit on citation)|
|Speeding In School Zone|
|Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility (FMFR) "No Vehicle Insurance"||$366.00|
|Ran a Stop Sign||$226.10|
|Disregard Traffic Control Device or Improper Turn||$201.10|
|Ran a Red Light||$296.10|
|Other Traffic Offenses||$160.00|
Mail the documents 1 – 4 listed above to:
Clerk of the Court
2014 Main Street Room 105
Dallas, Texas 75201
You must not currently be on probation from a previous request for Deferred Disposition. Defendants who are 25 years of age or younger must complete a driving safety course as a condition of probation.
Request for Deferred Disposition by mail will
not be accepted for:
- Speeding 25 miles or more over the posted speed limit;
- Any offense by a holder of a Commercial Driver's License (CDL);
- Passing a school bus;
- Any traffic violation that occurred in a construction zone with workers present;
- Persons under age 21 for any violations associated with alcohol;
- Any juvenile case (must appear in person with parent or legal guardian); or
- Class C misdemeanor assault, theft, or reckless damage offenses.
All Deferred Dispositions are subject to judicial review and approval.
Return to Top
Defensive Driving Class AKA Driving Safety Course
If you are charged with a driving offense, you may be eligible to take an approved driving safety course. If approved, the citation will be dismissed upon satisfactory completion of all conditions imposed.
Do not take a driving safety course without first obtaining permission from the court.
You may sign up in person at the Court
You may apply via mail
To be Eligible to Take a Driving Safety Course for Ticket Dismissal, You Must:
- Make your request on or before the appearance date on your citation in person to the court
- Bring a valid Texas Driver's license or permit
- Bring proof of financial responsibility (Vehicle Insurance)
- You can sign up by mail - Request to Take Driver Safety Course
- Enter a plea of Guilty or No Contest
- Provide a copy of a valid Texas Driver's license or permit
- Provide a copy of proof of financial responsibility (copy of declaration page of the insurance policy)
- Not have taken a driving safety course for ticket dismissal within the past twelve (12) months prior to the date of your citation. You will be required to sign a legal affidavit stating you are in compliance with this condition.
- Pay the state court costs and administrative fees. The administrative fee is
$139.10 for Offenses in School Zones. This amount is subject to change according to State law.
Driver's Safety Course Fee Schedule:
|Offense Type||Fee Schedule|
|Offenses in School Zones||$139.10|
You are NOT Eligible to Take a Driving Safety Course for Ticket Dismissal if:
- You hold a Commercial Driver's License
- You were charged with speeding 25 miles or more over the speed limit
- You were charged with violating one of the following sections of the Transportation Code (TRC) of the State of Texas:
- TRC Sec. 472.022 - Construction or maintenance work zone when workers are present
- TRC Sec. 545.066 - Passing a school bus
- TRC Sec. 545.401 - Reckless driving
- TRC Sec. 545.421 - Fleeing or attempting to elude Police Officers
- TRC Sec. 550.022 - Accident involving damage to a vehicle
- TRC Sec. 550.023 - Duty to give information and render aid
- TRC Sec. 522.003 - Serious traffic violations under a CDL
Once You Have Obtained Approval From the Court and Paid your Fees, You Must:
- Take a state approved driving safety course and return all documentation listed below within 90 days
- Obtain a certified copy of your driving record from the Texas Department of Public Safety in Austin. You can print your Driving Record online at
Texas DPS Online. Use the 3A version. You can also apply by mail.
- Submit both of the following to the Court by your 90 day deadline:
If you applied online, you must submit a copy of your insurance information that you supplied online.
- A certificate of completion marked Court Copy from a TEA approved driving safety course
- A certified copy of your driving record (3A) from the Texas Department of Public Safety
No extensions will be given
Where can you take a Driving Safety Course?
The driving safety course must be approved by the Texas Education Agency (TEA). Court personnel cannot recommend a driving safety school. There are courses available online; however, not all courses online are State approved. Be careful to make sure they are approved by the State of Texas either through TEA or have a statement that they are approved. Courses such as those offered by the National Safety Council and AARP are NOT approved courses.
Return to Top