You have 21 days from when the citation was issued to appear. You may make your appearance online, by mail, by telephone, and in person. Live Chat and email do not satisfy an appearance. If you fail to make your appearance within the 21 days, you are subject to added fines, fees, and possible warrants for your arrest. Civil citations have 31 days to appear. If you are unsure which type of citation you received, you can contact the Court before the 21 days expires to verify.
Driving Safety Course (DSC):
Once you are past the 21 days, the amount may be higher or this option may no longer be available.
Defendants charged with traffic offenses, with some exceptions, may request to take a driving safety course or motorcycle operator training course to have the charge dismissed. The driving safety course option is not available for all violations.
Exceptions to the application of Article 45.0511, C.C.P., include the following. You are NOT Eligible to Take a driving safety course for ticket dismissal if:
You have completed an approved driving safety course or motorcycle operator course, as appropriate, within the 12 months preceding the date of the offense. You will be required to sign a legal affidavit stating you are in compliance with this condition;
Speeding 25 mph or more over the speed limit;
Driving 95 miles per hour or more;
An offense committed in a construction or maintenance zone when workers are present;
Passing a school bus loading or unloading children;
Leaving the scene of a collision after causing damage to a vehicle that is driven or attended;
Serious traffic violation; and
An offense committed by a person who held a commercial driver’s license at the time of the offense or holds a CDL at the time of the request for DSC, including when the person is driving his or her own personal vehicle.
What you need to request the driving safety course option:
- A valid Texas driver’s license, or permit, or proof of active military duty status or are the spouse or dependent child of a person on active military duty;
- Show proof of financial responsibility (car insurance);
- Name listed on the policy as a driver;
- The insurance policy must be valid at the time of the request;
- No commercial policies (Unless your name is on the policy);
- Pay the State and Administrative Fees. (This amount is subject to change according to State law.)
As of September 1st, 2019, fees are:
$134.10 for offenses NOT in a school zone;
$159.10 for offenses IN a school zone.
*** When you request a driving safety course (DSC) online or by mail, please note this is a REQUEST ONLY. The Court will provide a response by mail within 5-7 business days and will utilize the address listed on the Contact Verification Form. ***
To review citation(s), status, or balances (Click Here). Example: (C12123456 Do not enter the dash) (Warrants will appear in red)
Where can I take DSC?
The Court staff is not able to recommend a specific driving safety course. There are courses available online and in-person; however, not all courses are State approved. Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation has an approved list of driving safety course where you can make a selection. (Click Here) Courses such as those offered by the National Safety Council and AARP are NOT approved courses.
Fill out the Verification of Contact Information Form and upload the completed form. (You will find this PDF link during the online setup.) The form must have a valid phone number.
Online options are available 24/7, including weekends and holidays. You may pay by debit or credit with a MasterCard or Visa.
Online transactions have a Convenience Fee. This fee covers the cost incurred by the City of Dallas to offer an online option for your convenience. Individuals who wish to avoid this fee may handle their case by mail or in-person at the Municipal Court at 2014 Main St.
Dallas Municipal Court
2014 Main St.
Dallas, TX 75201-4406
Download the driving safety course application: (Click Here).
Do not send cash by mail. Send only a check, cashier's check or money order made payable to the "City of Dallas" through the mail. To ensure the correct citation is credited, print the citation number on the check or money order.
The Court uses the postmark date on the letter (stamped by the postal service) as the received date. Mailing certified is recommended but is not required.
For hours of operation: (Click Here)
Pay with cash, debit card, credit card, check, or money order. Cards accepted are Visa and MasterCard. (No credit card fee when paying in-person at the Municipal Court.) Spanish speaking representatives are available. (Agentes de Servicio que hablan español están disponibles para servirle.)
The City of Dallas Municipal Court does not have free or dedicated parking for the public. Paid parking options include street metered parking, daily lots, and private garages.
Once you have received approval for DSC by the Court, you may:
Enroll and complete a State-approved driving safety course;
Purchase the 3A version of your driving record;
Take the affidavit to be notarized by a Texas notary.
The Court, can and may revoke or deny the DSC option if you completed any of the above-referenced items before approval.
The website may still show a balance after the DSC option is approved. The administrative fee for DSC is $139.10 for citations NOT in a school zone or $159.10 for citations IN a school zone. (This amount is subject to change according to State law.) The price difference between the original citation amount and the administrative fee may still show on the website. The remaining balance will go away once the DSC documents have been reviewed and the case is dismissed.
No extension is allowed on the 90 days deadline.
On or before the 90th day the DSC was approved, you must present to the Court the following evidence:
- A certificate of completion of driving safety course (DSC) or motorcycle operator training course (MOC);
- Applicant must sign the "Court Copy" certificate;
- If the certificate is not signed, you will receive a letter stating you need to appear in person at the Court to sign the paperwork;
- The defendant’s driving record as maintained by the Department of Public Safety showing that the defendant had not completed an approved driving safety course or motorcycle operator training course, as applicable, within the 12 months preceding the date of the offense;
- An affidavit stating that the defendant was not taking a driving safety course or motorcycle operator training course at the time of the request, nor has the defendant taken a course in the preceding 12 months from the date of the offense (members of active military duty must swear that they have not taken a course in another state in the preceding 12 months from the date of the offense) (You will receive this form in-person or by mail depending on how you requested DSC with the Court.);
- If you applied online, you must submit a copy of your insurance information that you supplied online.
No extension is allowed on the 90-day deadline.
Once you have completed and received all the required paperwork, you may choose to either mail or bring it into the Court. Fax, email, or live chat is not an option. The Court uses the postmark date on the letter (stamped by the postal service) as the received date. Mailing certified is recommended but is not required. Be sure to print the citation number on the paperwork to make sure the correct citation credited.
How do I know the Court received my paperwork?
Mail it certified;
- Go on live chat;
Check online under citation search (Click Here) If the due date for DSC has not passed, the case will still show pending. Once the due date has passed the paperwork will go before a Judge for review, this process can take 4-6 weeks after the due date. If past the 4-6 weeks, then contact the Court for additional information.
Default on DSC:
If you fail to meet the requirements of DSC, the Court will set your case for a show cause hearing and will mail a hearing notice to the last known address on file. The show cause hearing is your opportunity to speak with a Judge regarding why you failed to meet the requirements of DSC.
A conviction is reported to the Department of Public Safety as required by law if you fail to appear, to comply or fail to give a satisfactory explanation at a hearing before the Judge. Depending on the status of the case, a warrant may be issued.