City Plan Commission Thoroughfare Committee September 15, 2022 Minutes

Attendees: Commissioner Michael Jung (D9) – Chair, Commissioner Melissa Kingston (D14) – Vice Chair, Commissioner Benjamin Vann (D7), Commissioner Aaliyah Haqq (D12), Commissioner Claire Stanard (D13), Tom Grant, John Denholm, and Jeremy McGahan

Absent: None

Commissioner Jung called the meeting to order at 8:18 a.m.

Agenda Items:

1. First, order of business was to approve the August 2, 2022, meeting minutes.

Commissioner Kingston moved to approve the August 2, 2022, meeting minutes and Commissioner Stanard seconded the motion.

Vote on motion:

For: 8 –Jung, Kingston, Vann, Haqq, Stanard, Grant, Denholm, McGahan Opposed: 0

Motion passed unanimously.

2. Park Avenue CBD Plan Amendment

Staff presented an overview of the Park Avenue proposed amendment, explained the existing operation, and the proposed designation.

APPLICANT: First Presbyterian Church of Dallas

REPRESENTATIVE: Kimberly Smith, City of Dallas Department of Transportation Senior Planner

REQUEST: Amend the City of Dallas Central Business District (CBD) Streets and Vehicular Circulation Plan to change the right-of-way on Park Avenue between Young Street and Marilla Street from 50 feet of right-of-way to 48 feet of right-of-way noting that the proposed reduction in the right-of-way would be on the east side of the roadway adjacent to the 508 Park Avenue building.

Staff recommended approval of amending the CBD Streets and Vehicular Circulation Plan.

Commissioner Kingston moved to follow staff's recommendation of approval. Commissioner Stanard seconded the motion.

Discussion on the motion:

None.

Vote on motion:

For: 8 –Jung, Kingston, Vann, Haqq, Stanard, Grant, Denholm, McGahan Opposed: 0

Motion passed unanimously.

3. Other matters

Staff also shared a draft of Criteria to determine when an Alignment Shift Requires Amendment. Further details will be provided on the next agenda.

4. Adjournment

Commissioner Kingston moved to adjourn at 8:31 a.m. Commissioner Stanard seconded the motion.

Vote on motion:

For: 8 –Jung, Kingston, Vann, Haqq, Stanard, Grant, Denholm, McGahan Opposed: 0

Motion passed unanimously.