Memorandum



DATE December 2, 2022

TO Honorable Mayor and Members of the City Council

December 14, 2022, Council Agenda - Electric Vehicle Charging Infrastructure Grant Award

During the November 2, 2022, City Council meeting, the Department of Equipment and Fleet Management (EFM) briefed on FY 2023 fleet initiatives, to include pending grant applications to assist in funding electric vehicle (EV) infrastructure. The purpose of this memorandum is to provide details on an upcoming agenda item to accept a \$376,334 grant from the Federal Highway Administration (FHA) through the North Central Texas Council of Governments (NCTCOG).

As a result of successful coordination between the Office of Government Affairs and EFM, on December 14, 2022, the City Council will consider acceptance of a \$376,334 FHA grant, through the NCTCOG, to fund the purchase and installation of four (4) Direct Current Fast Chargers at the City's Central and Southeast Service Centers. Additionally, this grant award requires that the EV charging infrastructure be constructed by the end of July 2023 and that it is shared by both the public and the City's fleet.

Due to the public availability of the EV chargers, EFM, the Office of Environmental Quality and Sustainability, and the Office of Communications, Outreach, and Marketing will develop a communication plan to announce and market the availability of these EV chargers to both public and City EV drivers.

Aside from coordination of the communication plan, EFM is working with the Building Services Department and the Office of Procurement Services to create master agreements to purchase and install EV charging infrastructure in alignment with the 2022 Fleet Electrification Study conducted by the National Renewable Energy Laboratory.

Should there be any further questions, please contact Donzell Gipson, Director of Equipment and Fleet Management, at donzell.gipson@dallas.gov.

Robert M. Pere Ph.D. Assistant City Manager

c.

T.C. Broadnax, City Manager
Chris Caso, City Attorney
Mark Swann, City Auditor
Bilierae Johnson, City Secretary
Preston Robinson, Administrative Judge
Kimberly Bizor Tolbert, Deputy City Manager
Jon Fortune, Deputy City Manager

Majed A. Al-Ghafry, Assistant City Manager M. Elizabeth (Liz) Cedillo-Pereira, Assistant City Manager Carl Simpson, Assistant City Manager Jack Ireland, Chief Financial Officer Genesis D. Gavino, Chief of Staff to the City Manager Directors and Assistant Directors