Memorandum



DATE June 21, 2024

^{TO} Honorable Mayor and Members of the City Council

SUBJECT Recommendation for the Dallas Convention Center Hotel Development Corporation President

On June 26, the City Council will consider an item approving of Jack Ireland, Chief Financial Officer, as the newly appointed president for the Dallas Convention Center Hotel Development Corporation (DCCHDC) board of directors.

The DCCHDC, a local government corporation, was established in September 2008, to aid, assist, and act on behalf of the City of Dallas in the performance of governmental functions related to the Omni Dallas Hotel. Pursuant to the by-laws of the DCCHDC, the board of directors for the entity shall include three persons, appointed by the City Council at the recommendation of the City Manager, and must be an employee of the city and a qualified elector within the boundaries of the city of Dallas.

By September 30 or thereafter of the second year of service on the board, board members are to be re-appointed, with no member serving more than six consecutive years or until such time as an appropriate replacement is recommended. Board members have historically been selected from among senior or executive staff.

Kimberly Bizor Tolbert currently serves as the DCCHDC Board of Directors' President. Other members include John Johnson – Director of Building Services (Treasurer) and Daisy Fast – Director of 3-1-1 (Vice President). With the City Council appointment of Kimberly Bizor Tolbert as interim city manager, her position as President requires the appointment of another individual. The June 26 agenda provides a staff and City Manager recommendation that Jack Ireland, CFO, receive City Council approval as the appointee.

Should you have any questions, please contact Rosa Fleming, Director of Convention and Event Services at 214.939.2755 or at rosa.fleming@dallas.gov.

Service First, Now!

c:

Robin Bentley Assistant City Manager (I)

Kimberly Bizor Tolbert, City Manager (I) Tammy Palomino, City Attorney Mark Swann, City Auditor Bilierae Johnson, City Secretary Preston Robinson, Administrative Judge Dominique Artis, Chief of Public Safety (I) Majed A. Al-Ghafry, Assistant City Manager M. Elizabeth (Liz) Cedillo-Pereira, Assistant City Manager

Alina Ciocan, Assistant City Manager Donzell Gipson, Assistant City Manager (I) Jack Ireland, Chief Financial Officer Elizabeth Saab, Chief of Strategy, Engagement, and Alignment (I) Directors and Assistant Directors