Memorandum



DATE February 7, 2014

The Honorable Members of the Transportation and Trinity River Project Committee: Vonciel Jones Hill (Chair), Lee Kleinman (Vice Chair), Tennell Atkins, Monica Alonzo, Sandy Greyson, and Sheffie Kadane

SUBJECT D/FW International Airport Board – Dallas Area Rapid Transit Board Appointment Recommendation

At your Monday, February 10, 2014 meeting, I will be discussing the subject matter noted above.

The need exists to move up Mr. William Tsao's term on the D/FW Board to become effective February 12, 2014 rather than July 1, 2014. The end of this term will remain January 31, 2016 as the position he was appointed to became vacant Sunday, February 2, 2014. The City Council is scheduled to consider a resolution on February 12, 2014 providing for this action.

As you know, Mr. Tsao also serves on the DART Board and is not prohibited from serving simultaneously on both boards. Mr. Tsao's term on DART expires July 1, 2015. Relative to the DART Board, options available are (1) allow Mr. Tsao to continue serving on both boards either for the full term or until a replacement is appointed and (2) appoint a replacement to complete Mr. Tsao's term by expediting the appointment of a replacement or appointing a replacement at the time Places 1, 2 and 3 are considered for appointment. The appointment process for Places 1, 2 and 3 are scheduled to begin February 28, 2014; more information will follow at that time. Timelines providing for these options will be covered at your meeting.

In the meantime, please let me know if you have any questions.

Rosa A. Rios City Secretary

so a fin

c: A.C. Gonzalez, City Manager
Warren M. S. Ernst, City Attorney
Judge Daniel F. Solis, Administrative Judge
Craig D. Kinton, City Auditor
Ryan S. Evans, Interim First Assistant City Manager
Forest E. Turner, Assistant City Manager
Joey Zapata, Assistant City Manager
Charles M. Cato, Interim Assistant City Manager
Theresa O'Donnell, Interim Assistant City Manager
Jeanne Chipperfield, Chief Financial Officer
Bilierae Johnson, Assistant City Secretary
Jesse Salazar, Boards and Commissions Manager