# Transportation and Trinity River Project Council Committee Meeting

## **Meeting Minutes**

Meeting Date: 23 June 2014 Convened: 1:04 p.m. Adjourned: 2:00 p.m.

Councilmembers:	Presenter(s):	
Vonciel Jones Hill, Chair	Jill A. Jordan, P.E., Assistant City Manager	
Lee Kleinman, Vice Chair	Rob Newman, Director, Trinity River Project, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers	
Mayor Pro Tem Tennell Atkins	Chief Lawrence, Assistant Chief, Dallas Police Department	
Deputy Mayor Pro Tem Monica Alonzo		
Sandy Greyson		
Sheffie Kadane		
Councilmembers Absent: None	Other Councilmembers Present:	
	Philip T. Kingston	
Staff Present:	Staff Present:	
Keith Allen, Dallas Police Department	Jody Puckett, Director, Dallas Water Utilities	
Liz Fernandez, Director, TWM	Dennis Ware, Interim Director, Street Services	
Robert Sims, City Attorney's Office	Auro Majumdar, Assistant Director, Street Services	

### AGENDA:

1.	Approval of	the 9 June 2014	Meeting Minutes

Presenter(s): Vonciel Jones Hill, Chair

**Action Taken/Committee Recommendation(s):** Motion was made to approve the 9 June 2014 Transportation and Trinity River Project Council Committee ["TTRPC"] meeting minutes.

Motion made by: Atkins	Motion seconded by: Kadane
Item passed unanimously: X	Item passed on a divided vote:
Item failed unanimously:	Item failed on a divided vote:

### 2. **Dallas Floodway Update**

**Presenter(s):** Rob Newman, Director, Trinity River Project - U. S. Army Corps of Engineers **Information Only:** X

#### 3. Trinity Project Security Planning Grant Update

Presenter(s): Chief Lawrence, Dallas Police Department

**Information Only: X** 

Transportation and Trinity River Project Council Committee Meeting Minutes – 23 June 2014 Page 2

#### 4. Upcoming Potential Council Agenda Item(s)

**Action Taken/Committee Recommendation(s):** Motion was made to move these items forward to full City Council for consideration.

Motion made by: Kadane	Motion seconded by: Kleinman
Item passed unanimously: X	Item passed on a divided vote:
Item failed unanimously:	Item failed on a divided vote:

- Authorize an Interlocal Agreement with the Texas Department of Transportation for the construction, operation and maintenance of a roadway illumination system on IH 35E from 0.5 miles south of Loop 12 to IH 20 for an estimated cost of \$43,200 annually beginning in FY 2014-15 Not to exceed \$43,200 Financing: Current Funds (subject to annual appropriations) (STS)
- Authorize (1) a Local Project Advance Funding Agreement (LPAFA) with the Texas Department of Transportation to design, test, and implement new communication technologies at various citywide locations; (2) the establishment of appropriations in the amount of \$2,000,000 in Texas Department of Transportation Grant Funds; and (3) a required local match in an amount not to exceed \$500,000 Total not to exceed \$2,500,000 Financing: Texas Department of Transportation Grant Funds (\$2,000,000) and 2006 Bond Funds (\$500,000) (STS)
- Authorize an increase in the contract with Magnus Pacific Corporation for additional work associated with the construction of underground slurry cutoff walls and the Hampton Pump Station outfall improvement for the 100-Year Levee Remediation – Cutoff Wall Improvements – Not to exceed \$67,299, from \$12,235,122 to \$12,302,421 – Financing: 2006 Bond Funds (TWM)
- Authorize Supplemental Agreement No. 1 to the contract with SCS Engineers for additional detailed environmental investigation, assessment, and Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ) technical assistance during construction associated with the Subchapter T Permit for the Simpkins Remediation - Not to exceed \$46,500, from \$29,500 to \$76,000 - Financing: Stormwater Drainage Management Capital Construction Funds (TWM)
- Authorize Supplemental Agreement No. 3 to the contract with Leidos Engineering, LLC (formerly doing business as SAIC Energy, Environment & Infrastructure, LLC) for additional professional services for resource recovery planning and implementation services -\$349,185, from \$265,600 to \$614,785 - Financing: Current Funds (subject to annual appropriations) (SAN)

Vonciel Jones Hill, Chair		
Transportation and Trinit	y River Project Cou	ncil Committee

Adjourn (2:00 p.m.)