## Memorandum



DATE May 2, 2019

Honorable Members of the Government Performance & Financial Management
Committee: Jennifer S. Gates (Chair), Scott Griggs (Vice Chair), Sandy Greyson,
Lee M. Kleinman, Philip T. Kingston, Tennell Atkins, Kevin Felder

## **SUBJECT Oncor Application for Increased Electric Rates**

On April 8, 2019, Oncor Electric Delivery Company LLC ("Oncor") filed an Application for Approval of a Distribution Cost Recovery Factor. In the filing, the Company is seeking a system-wide increase in distribution revenues of \$29.4 million. This application was filed concurrently with the Public Utility Commission of Texas (PUC) and all other cities on the Oncor distribution system. The PUC's rules allow cities 60 days to act on this application.

A resolution denying the application has been placed on the May 8, 2019 City Council agenda. In addition to denying the rates, the resolution authorizes the City to participate with the Oncor Cities Steering Committee (OCSC) in the proceeding at the PUC, PUC Docket No. 49427. The City is a member of OCSC, which coordinates the efforts of member cities in system wide rate cases. OCSC has already retained outside counsel and consultants and is actively reviewing the application. OCSC will advocate for fair and reasonable rates for the residents served by Oncor both at the PUC and any subsequent appeal. The City's rate case expense will be reimbursed by Oncor directly to OCSC.

Please let me know if you need additional information.

M. Elifabeth Reich M. Elizabeth Reich

Chief Financial Officer

c.

Honorable Mayor and Members of the City Council T.C. Broadnax, City Manager Chris Caso, City Attorney (Interim) Mark Swann, City Auditor Bilierae Johnson, City Secretary Preston Robinson, Administrative Judge Kimberly Bizor Tolbert. Chief of Staff to the City Manager Majed A. Al-Ghafry, Assistant City Manager Jon Fortune, Assistant City Manager Joey Zapata, Assistant City Manager Nadia Chandler Hardy, Assistant City Manager and Chief Resilience Officer Michael Mendoza, Chief of Economic Development and Neighborhood Services Laila Alequresh, Chief Innovation Officer Directors and Assistant Directors