Public Safety Committee Meeting Record

The Public Safety Committee meetings are recorded. Agenda materials are available online at www.dallascityhall.com. Recordings may be reviewed/copied by contacting the Public Safety Committee Coordinator at 214-670-3316.

Μe	eeting Date:	Monday, November	er 9, 2015	Convened: 11:0	08 A.M.	Adjourned: 12:08 P.M.	
Co Co Co Co	ouncil Membe ouncil Membe ouncil Membe ouncil Membe ouncil Membe	embers Present: er Adam Medrano, er B. Adam McGouger Jennifer S. Gates er Sandy Greyson er Philip T. Kingstor er Tiffinni A. Young	gh, Vice Chair s			Members Absent: cil Members Present:	
Staff Present: Assistant City Manager Eric D. Campbell, CMO Fire Chief Louie Bright, III, DFR Assistant Chief Tommy Tine, DFR Deputy Chief Dominique Artis, DFR Captain Chad Smith, DFR Section Chief Lauren Johnson, DFR					Assistant Chief Ted Padgett, DFR Deputy Chief Tameji Berry, DFR Deputy Chief Vernon Hale, DPD Deputy Chief Robert Sherwin, DPD		
AC	GENDA:						
Ca	all to Order						
1.		f Minutes from the s): Council Member of Only:			ety Committe	ee Meeting	
		en/Committee Rec as made to approve					
	Item passe	de by: Council Me d unanimously: ∑ unanimously: ☐			Item passed	onded by: Council Member Young d on a divided vote: on a divided vote:	
2.	Water Reso Presenter(s Information	s): Captain Chad S	Smith				
	The commit	ction Taken/Committee Recommendation(s): ne committee was updated on the Dallas Fire-Rescue Department's Swiftwater Rescue Team. Council Member Kingston ked to provide the committee with the areas that continually produce swiftwater rescue calls.					
	•	de by: d unanimously: [unanimously: [onded by: d on a divided vote: on a divided vote:	

Public Safety Committee Meeting Record – November 9, 2015 Page 2 of 3

3.	Aircraft Rescue Fire Fighting (ARFF) Presenter(s): Section Chief Lauren Johnson Information Only:						
	Action Taken/Committee Recommendation(s): The committee was updated on the Dallas Fire-Rescue Department's ARFF Program.						
	Motion made by: Item passed unanimously: Item failed unanimously:	Motion Seconded by: Item passed on a divided vote: Item failed on a divided vote:					
4.	Fire Investigation Division Presenter(s): Deputy Chief Tameji Berry Information Only:						
Action Taken/Committee Recommendation(s): The committee was updated on the Dallas Fire-Rescue Department's Fire Investigation Division.							
	Motion made by: Item passed unanimously: Item failed unanimously:	Motion Seconded by: Item passed on a divided vote: Item failed on a divided vote:					
5.	Administrative (Fire) Reports Presenter(s): Deputy Chief Tameji Berry Information Only:						
	Action Taken/Committee Recommendation(s): The committee was updated on fire incidents during the period	d of September 19, 2015 thru September 26, 2015.					
	Motion made by: Item passed unanimously: Item failed unanimously:	Motion Seconded by: Item passed on a divided vote: Item failed on a divided vote:					
6.	Juvenile Curfew Ordinance Presenter(s): Deputy Chief Robert Sherwin Information Only: ☑						
	Action Taken/Committee Recommendation(s): The committee was provided with an overview of the impact of the Dallas Police Department's Juvenile Curfew Ordinance on the City of Dallas. Council Member Kingston asked to provide the committee with the total number of prosecutions undertaken since the enactment of the Juvenile Curfew Ordinance.						
	Motion made by: Item passed unanimously: Item failed unanimously:	Motion Seconded by: Item passed on a divided vote: Item failed on a divided vote:					

Public Safety Committee Meeting Record – November 9, 2015 Page 3 of 3

Presenter(s): Council Member Medrano, Chair Information Only:	
Action Taken/Committee Recommendation(s): A motion was made to move forward to full council for	approval; item passed with Council Member Kingston voting against.
Motion made by: Council Member McGough Item passed unanimously: Item failed unanimously:	Motion Seconded by: Council Member Gates Item passed on a divided vote: ⊠ Item failed on a divided vote: □
APPROVED BY:	ATTEST:
Adam Medrano, Chair Public Safety Committee	Crystal Lee, Coordinator Public Safety Committee