## Memorandum

DATE April 19, 2019

CITY OF DALLAS

TO Honorable Members of the Public Safety and Criminal Justice Committee

## SUBJECT Dallas Police Department Boat Donation

The Dallas Police Department has provided continuous police protection of Lake Ray Hubbard since 1972. The area above and below the water surface of the lake is in the jurisdiction of the City of Dallas. Dallas Police enforce all laws and city ordinances in on the lake and up to the shoreline.

The lake is patrolled by officers from the Northeast Division. The Lake Ray Hubbard Unit consists of two watches which operate from 7:00 AM until 11:00 PM. The unit consists of one sergeant and four primary officers. The primary officers are supported by secondary or auxiliary officers who are also specially trained and certified. These officers are required to be Marine Safety Enforcement Officers in order to enforce the Texas Water Safety Act. All officers currently at Lake Ray Hubbard are certified Marine Safety Enforcement Officers.

The boats utilized currently are old and in a state of disrepair. The Bayside Boat Club, located at 600 Cooke Drive, Rowlett, TX 75088, has offered to donate the following boat to the Northeast Patrol Division's Marine Unit:

2006 Sea Doo Islandia boat with towing trailer – valued at \$23,000.00

The police department wanted to advise you that they have accepted the generous donation of this boat that will allow the Marine Unit to perform their expected duties at Lake Ray Hubbard. Please contag me if you have any questions.

U. Renee Hall

**Police Chief** 

C:

T.C. Broadnax, City Manager Chris Caso, City Attorney (Interim) Bilierae Johnson, City Secretary Preston Robinson, Administrative Judge Kimberly Bizor Tolbert, Chief of Staff to the City Manager Majed A. Al-Ghafry, Assistant City Manager Jon Fortune, Assistant City Manager

Joey Zapata, Assistant City Manager Nadia Chandler Hardy, Assistant City Manager and Chief Resilience Officer Michael Mendoza, Chief of Economic Development and Neighborhood Services M. Elizabeth Reich, Chief Financial Officer Laila Aleguresh, Chief Innovation Officer **Directors and Assistant Directors**