Memorandum



DATE October 23, 2020

TO Honorable Chair and Members of the Environment & Sustainability Council Committee

SUBJECT Update Regarding IH-45 Zero Emissions Vehicle Corridor Plans

This memorandum provides updates on the Interstate 45 Zero-Emission Corridor Deployment Plan requested at the June 2020 Committee meeting. Councilman Atkins requested this information during the North Central Texas Council of Government (NCTCOG) presentation on air quality measures and the agency's efforts towards implementing Electric Vehicle Charging infrastructure on a regional basis.

As background, in 2019 the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) awarded funding to the NCTCOG to develop an Alternative Fuel Corridors Deployment Plan. The scope of the NCTCOG proposal is to develop a Zero-Emission Vehicle corridor along Interstate Highway 45 from Dallas to Houston. This plan involves building infrastructure for both electric and hydrogen fuel cell electric vehicles with an emphasis on medium and heavy-duty vehicles, especially for the movement of goods.

NCTCOG is currently seeking input from stakeholders representing fuel providers, fleets, infrastructure developers, fuel associations, government agencies, utilities, and interest groups to inform development of the infrastructure plan. Stakeholders are needed to support both plan elements - battery electric vehicle charging, and fuel cell electric vehicle fueling. NCTCOG has an on-going survey for stakeholders and OEQS staff will participate and facilitate the City's engagement in this project. The following link provides access to the NCTCOG IH-45 Zero-Emission Vehicle Corridor plan and calendar of meetings:

https://www.nctcog.org/trans/about/committees/ih-45-zero-emission-vehicle-corridor.

We will continue to provide regular updates on this project. Please contact Sheila Delgado, Interim Director of the Office of Environmental Quality & Sustainability at (214) 670-1642, should you have questions, or need additional information.

Joey Zapata,

Assistant City Manager

c: Honorable Mayor and Members of the City Council
Chris Caso, City Attorney
Mark Swann, City Auditor
Bilierae Johnson, City Secretary
Preston Robinson, Administrative Judge
Kimberly Bizor Tolbert, Chief of Staff to the City Manager

Majed A. Al-Ghafry, Assistant City Manager
Jon Fortune, Assistant City Manager
Dr. Eric A. Johnson, Chief of Economic Development and Neighborhood Services
M. Elizabeth Reich, Chief Financial Officer
M. Elizabeth (Liz) Cedillo-Pereira, Chief of Equity and Inclusion
Directors and Assistant Directors