## Memorandum



DATE June 7, 2019

TO Honorable Mayor and Members of the City Council

## SUBJECT Department of Public Works Resurfacing Project – Harry Hines Boulevard

To improve the conditions of the existing pavement and to address any surface drainage deficiencies, the Department of Public Works began a resurfacing project on May 29, 2019 on Harry Hines Boulevard at the Dallas North Tollway. The resurfacing project spans between the North Dallas Tollway and Cedar Springs Road at N. Akard Street and is anticipated to be complete by early July 2019.

Our Public Works team will complete this project with a block-by-block approach, completing one block in its entirety before moving to the next block. While working hours will be between 9:00~AM-3:30~PM, drivers should expect intermittent lane closures during the construction. The authorized work days are Monday through Saturday.

As part of the planning process for this work, the Public Works team will be reaching out to the area businesses and residents as the work progresses to each affected block. Additionally, this work has been coordinated with the North Texas Tollway Authority. Dynamic message signs will be placed in the area and traffic signal timing will be adjusted along Harry Hines Boulevard to mitigate congestion in the area. The project manager for effort Christopher Lutz reached this is and he can be at Christopher.Lutz@dallascityhall.com.

Should there be any questions or need for clarification, please let me know.

Majed Al-Ghafry, P.E.

**Assistant City Manager** 

c: T.C. Broadnax, City Manager
Chris Caso, City Attorney (Interim)
Mark Swann, City Auditor
Bilierae Johnson, City Secretary
Preston Robinson, Administrative Judge
Kimberly Bizor Tolbert, Chief of Staff to the City Manager
Jon Fortune, Assistant City Manager

Joey Zapata, Assistant City Manager
Nadia Chandler Hardy, Assistant City Manager and Chief Resilience Officer
Michael Mendoza, Chief of Economic Development and Neighborhood Services
M. Elizabeth Reich, Chief Financial Officer
Laila Alequresh, Chief Innovation Officer
Directors and Assistant Directors