Memorandum



DATE February 1, 2019

TO Honorable Mayor and Members of the City Council

SUBJECT Swearing in of Dallas Fire Chief Dominique D. Artis

The Dallas Fire-Rescue Department and the City of Dallas will conduct a ceremony to swear in Dominique D. Artis as the 17th Fire Chief on Monday, February 25, 5:30 p.m. at Concord Church, 6808 Pastor Bailey Dr, Dallas, TX 75237. This ceremony will include an invocation by Pastor Bryan L. Carter of Concord Church, remarks by the Mayor and other city officials, an oath of office taken by Chief Artis and a special presentation by the Roosevelt High School Choir, Chief Artis' alma mater.

We will include a reminder in the TCB nearer to the date.

Parking

Two Council vans are reserved and will depart from the green entrance on L1 at 4:45 p.m. If you choose to drive separately, attached is a non-transferrable VIP parking pass for self-parking in the Lexus Silver Garage (entrance located on Jack Evans Street off Ross Avenue). An attendant will be present.

Program and Guests

Guests will include Chief Artis' family and classmates, DFR leadership and officers, members of the Dallas legislative delegation and community leaders. All Dallas Fire-Rescue Personnel have been invited to the event and are encouraged to attend. Light refreshments will be provided.

Should you have any questions or concerns, please contact Carrie Prysock in the Council office or Victoria Cruz in my office.

Thank you for your continued support of the entire Dallas Fire-Rescue Department and all First Responders.

Jon Fortune

Assistant City Manager

T.C. Broadnax, City Manager
Chris Caso, City Attorney (Interim)
Carol A. Smith, City Auditor (Interim)
Bilierae Johnson, City Secretary
Preston Robinson, Administrative Judge
Kimberly Bizor Tolbert, Chief of Staff to the City Manager

Majed A. Al-Ghafry, Assistant City Manager Joey Zapata, Assistant City Manager Nadia Chandler Hardy, Assistant City Manager and Chief Resilience Officer M. Elizabeth Reich, Chief Financial Officer Laila Alequresh, Chief Innovation Officer Directors and Assistant Directors