## Memorandum



DATE April 29, 2020

TO Honorable Mayor and Members of the City Council

## **SUBJECT Building Permits for Elective Construction**

Based upon the Governor's most recent order, Sustainable Development & Construction is making plans to issue permits for elective construction projects that have been reviewed but were prohibited from having permits issued.

Building Inspection has approximately 80 electronic plans and 100 paper submittals on hold. The electronic submittals will be issued without person-to-person interaction. Once City staff designates the review as complete in the electronic plan review system, the applicant, from their own device, will print the permit and receive the approved plans without coming to a City facility. Final approvals by staff will be done on Thursday, April 30<sup>th</sup>, after business hours, making permits available for applicants to print on Friday and begin work.

The paper submittals require the applicant to come to the Oak Cliff Municipal Center and pick up their permit and plans. To avoid a rush and overcrowding in the permit center, staff will begin notifying applicants Thursday to pick up their permits. A note will be on the permit that construction cannot take place until May 1<sup>st</sup>. Applicants will be given specific time windows to pick up their permits to minimize the number of people in the building.

If you have questions about the issuance of these permits, please contact Kris Sweckard, Director of Sustainable Development and Construction, at 214-671-9293.

Majed A. Al-Ghafry
Assistant City Manager

T.C. Broadnax, City Manager
Chris Caso, City Attorney
Mark Swann, City Auditor
Bilierae Johnson, City Secretary
Preston Robinson, Administrative Judge
Kimberly Bizor Tolbert, Chief of Staff to the City Manager
Jon Fortune, Assistant City Manager

Joey Zapata, Assistant City Manager
Dr. Eric Anthony Johnson, Chief of Economic Development & Neighborhood Services
Nadia Chandler Hardy, Assistant City Manager
M. Elizabeth Reich, Chief Financial Officer
Laila Alequresh, Chief Innovation Officer
M. Elizabeth (Liz) Cedillo-Pereira, Chief of Equity and Inclusion
Directors and Assistant Directors