Memorandum



DATE January 31, 2020

TO Honorable Mayor and Members of the City Council

SUBJECT Office of Homeless Solutions Community Engagement Plan

The purpose of this memorandum is to provide an update on the Office of Homeless Solutions (OHS) community engagement plan as mentioned on November 1, 2019 via memorandum.

The City partnered with the "social services" team from Texas Christian University to capture the community's perceptions and understanding of homeless-related issues in Dallas and gauge their support for various housing options that would complement their respective neighborhoods. The information received would help guide recommendations for implementation of Proposition J of the 2017 Bond Program. While the team possess the expertise on homelessness and community engagement, your input is needed regarding your respective districts and will supplement their research efforts. In order to maintain the scientific and objective nature of this project, City staff will aid in scheduling the meetings with each councilmember but will not attend the sessions.

All meetings with councilmembers should be concluded by Tuesday, February 18, 2020. Preliminary findings will be presented to City Council no later than May 6, 2020. The final written report will be delivered by June 30, 2020.

If you have any questions or concerns regarding the information provided the memorandum, please do hesitate to contact Nadia Chandler Hardy, Assistant City Manager or Monica Hardman, Director of the Office of Homeless Solutions.

T.C. Broadnax
City Manager

Chris Caso, City Attorney (Interim)
Mark Swann, City Auditor
Bilierae Johnson, City Secretary
Preston Robinson, Administrative Judge
Kimberly Bizor Tolbert, Chief of Staff to the City Manager
Majed A. Al-Ghafry, Assistant City Manager
Jon Fortune, Assistant City Manager

Joey Zapata, Assistant City Manager
Nadia Chandler Hardy, Assistant City Manager and Chief Resilience Officer
Michael Mendoza, Chief of Economic Development and Neighborhood Services
M. Elizabeth Reich, Chief Financial Officer
Laila Alequresh, Chief Innovation Officer
M. Elizabeth (Liz) Cedillo-Pereira, Chief of Equity and Inclusion
Directors and Assistant Directors