

Charter Review Commission Meeting Minutes Kiest Recreation Center Thursday, March 27, 2014

Commission Members Present:

Rafael Anchia Levi Davis, First Vice Chair Eva Elvove Lois Finkelman, Second Vice Chair Michael Northrup Tom Perkins Diane Ragsdale Paul Rich Bob Stimson Mary Suhm Alan Walne

Staff Members Present:

Anna Holmes Tricia Horatio Parris Long Barbara McAninch John Rogers Elizabeth Zornes

Commission Members Absent:

Jan Hart Black, Liz Cedillo- Pereira, Robert Chereck, Jeanne Phillips, Max Wells

5:35 PM Meeting called to order by First Vice Chair, Levi Davis

A quorum was present.

Chair's Welcome

Presenter(s): Levi Davis

Discussion Item: First Vice Chair, Levi Davis, explained the purpose of the charter review community meetings.

Introduction of Chairs and Commissioners

Presenter(s): Levi Davis

Discussion Item: First Vice Chair requested that each commission member introduce herself/himself.

Public Comments on Charter Review Process

Presenter(s): Citizens

Discussion Item: Citizens gave comment on the Charter Review Process for the Commission's consideration. Each item suggested by a speaker that related to the Charter was added to the Suggested Amendments to the Dallas City Charter List for consideration by the Commission. Chair Anchia outlined the community meeting schedule and meeting locations. Chair Anchia gave a brief explanation of the charter review process and summarized key issues including:

- Mayor/City Council pay and terms
- The structure of boards and commissions
- Redistricting reform will likely be discussed again on April 8, 2014
- Civil Service and personnel systems will be discussed on April 1, 2014



Charter Review Commission Meeting Minutes Kiest Recreation Center Thursday, March 27, 2014

Commission will vote on recommendations sent to City Council after the last scheduled community meeting.

Charter amendments on the Civil Service Board and personnel, council pay and terms, boards and commissions and opposition to any form of privatization were presented to the Commission by the public.

The following individuals addressed the commission:

Claudia Meyer, 6015 Fox Point Trl. Roy Williams, 13410 Preston Rd. #423 Judy Brooks, 2319 Perryton Dr. Eddie Morgan, 2343 Vagas St. Stan Aten, 3165 O Bannon Dr. Edna Pemberton, 7101 Flameleaf Pl. C W Whitaker, 2130 Oak Valley Ln. Tim Ebert, 2535 S. Vernon Ave. Marilyn Cox, 622 Dogwood Trl. Mary Hasan, 3425 Hacienda Dr.

Meeting adjourned at 6:44 PM

Chair

Commission Administrator