The city secretary is the election official for the city and oversees the administration of city elections to ensure com​pliance with all city, state and federal election laws and policies and to ensure that city elections are conducted in a fair and impartial manner. 

The City of Dallas is located within 5 counties: Collin, Dallas, Denton, Kaufman and Rockwall. However, registered voters reside only in Collin, Dallas and Denton Counties. Qualified voters, at a general election, cast their votes and ultimately determine those candidates that are to be elected to serve on the Dallas City Council.

The general election is held in odd-numbered years and all City Council seats come up for (re) election as there are no staggering terms. However, in the event a vacancy on the City Council arises, a special election is held in accordance with the Texas Election Code.

The City Council consists of 15 members: Mayor (Place 15), and Councilmembers (Places 1-14). The City Council is term restricted at a total of 8 years of service each: the Mayor (Place 15) is able to serve two 4-year terms and Councilmembers are able to serve 4 two-year terms (Places 1-14). Once termed, a member of the City Council cannot run for re-election, but may, after one City Council term has passed, run again for elective office.

Information on the upcoming election may be accessed by going to our "Upcoming Election​" page.

It is the goal of the City Secretary’s Office to facilitate the election process. Please contact us at (214) 670-3738 or by email if we can be of further service.