Trinity Methodist Church
2120 McKinney Ave
Blending the Chicago School and Prairie styles, the Trinity Methodist Church was an innovative and unique anchor at the corner of McKinney Avenue and Pearl Street. The church was designed by James Flanders and completed in 1904, bringing a new progressive, contemporary style of architecture to the city. The ornamentation, especially the intricate stone frieze detailing, was inspired by the work of Louis Sullivan.
In 1974, due to its architectural significance, Trinity Methodist Church became Dallas’ first listing in the National Register of Historic Places. In 1976, it church became the first individual historic landmark in the City of Dallas. The church closed its doors in 1974 due to a dwindling congregation. Redevelopment attempts were underway when arson caused the church to burn in 1981, gutting the structure.