The Bishop Arts Building was built in 1928 as part of a street car retail node. This "trolley stop shop" is unique in that it is only one of two buildings in the district with a second story, and the only one that offered apartments. It is also largely unaltered since its construction. The building is known locally as "The Alamo" because of its front curved parapet and buff brick reminiscent of adobe architecture.
Designations: Dallas Landmark (1999)Further Research:Bishop Arts Building Landmark Nomination Form