Municipal Archives

Dallas Firsts

Event Description
First Appointed African-American Male
Council Member​
Cleophas Anthony "C.A." Galloway, appointed March 1967 by Mayor J. Erik Jonsson upon the resignation of Councilmember Joe G. Moody and completed Moody's term. Mr. Galloway (1905-1995) was a realtor and co-partner in a real estate firm.
First Elected African-American Male
Council Member
George L. Allen, appointed 1968, elected in 1969, serving 1968-1975. Allen (1909-1991) was president of a life insurance firm and a Certified Public Accountant. Among many accomplishments, Allen played a role in the desegregation of Dallas' schools and public facilities and pushed for an important open housing ordinance and a public accommodations ordinance. The George L. Allen Courts Building [Dallas County] is named for him.
First Female Council Member Calvert Collins (1922-2015) was an advocate for education and healthcare as a longtime philanthropist.   Collins ran for City Council in 1957 after getting a phone call from then-Mayor Robert L. Thornton asking if she would run.  She was a believer in homeowners’ rights, was elected after a runoff, and served two terms from 1957-1961.
First Hispanic Council MemberAnita Martinez, 1969-1973.  She fought to build a recreation center for West Dallas and pushed for numerous improvements, including library branches and street repair in low-income neighborhoods.
First Appointed Woman Mayor

Adlene Harrison, 1976.  Harrison served as mayor for three months in 1976 to complete the term of We​s Wise, who resigned.  She also served ​on the City Council from 1973-1977.
​First Elected Woman Mayor
Annette Strauss, 1987-1991.  Strauss (1924-1999) was elected mayor in 1987 and re-elected to a second term in 1989.​​
First African-American Mayor Ron W. Kirk, 1995-2002.
​First African-American Woman Police Chief​U. Renée Hall, 2017-2020.
​First Latino Police Chief 
​Eddie Garcia, 2020-