Municipal Archives

City Council Inauguration Planning Materials, 1981, 1985 

Collection 1994-042


Repository​Dallas Municipal Archives
Office of the City Secretary
1500 Marilla Street, 5D South
Dallas, Texas 75201
CreatorCity of Dallas Public Information Office
TitleCity Council Inauguration Planning Materials
Dates1981, 1985
Quantity.50 linear inches
AbstractSpecial Agenda for the 1981 Dallas City Council inauguration and planning materials for the 1985 Dallas City Council inauguration​.
LanguageRecords are in English

Scope and Contents 

The collection consists of the special agenda for the May 4, 1981, Dallas City Council Inauguration and the planning materials for the May 6, 1985, Dallas City Council Inauguration. 

Although the inauguration activities for the Dallas City Council have varied over many decades, they often include a pre-ceremony breakfast or luncheon, the ceremony itself, the mayor's State of the City address, a post-inauguration reception, and a ceremonial first council meeting.  Included in the collection is an annotated copy of the special agenda for the May 4, 1981, Dallas City Council Inauguration documenting all of the day's activities including activity coordinator assignments, a diagram of the inauguration stage, and a luncheon menu. The planning materials for the May 6, 1985, inauguration contain guest lists, a copy of the speech given by the Master of Ceremonies, Eric Moye; an event time line, and other documents related to the planning and execution of the inauguration festivities. 

The 1981 Dallas City Council was composed of Don Hicks, District 1; Ricardo Medrano, District 2; Joe Haggar, District 3; Rolan Tucker, District 4; Lee Simpson, District 5; Elsie Fay Heggins, District 6; Max Goldblatt, District 7; Fred Blair, District 8; Sid Stahl, District 9; and Mayor Wes Wise, District 10.

The 1985 Dallas City Council was composed of Bill Milkie, District 1; Lori Palmer, District 2; Jim Richards, District 3; Dean Vanderbilt, District 4; Craig Holcomb, District 5; Diane Ragsdale, District 6;  John Evans, District 7; Al Lipscomb, District 8; Jerry Rucker, District 9; and Mayor Annette Strauss, District 10. 




Permission to publish, reproduce, distribute, or use by any and all other current or future developed methods or procedures must be obtained in writing from the Dallas Municipal Archives.  All rights are reserved and retained regardless of current or future development or laws that may apply to fair use standards.


City Council Inauguration Planning Materials, 1981, 1985 (Box <x>, Folder <y>), Dallas Municipal Archives

Related Material

Index Terms

Dallas -- Texas -- History
Dallas (Tex.) -- Politics and government
Dallas (Tex.). City Council
Elections -- Texas -- Dallas

Container List 

BoxFolder​​Title, Date
11Council Inauguration, 1981, 1985